Great Lakes Day 2018

Great Lakes Days, March 7-8, 2018 in Washington, D.C.

Embassy Row Hotel
2015 Massachusetts Avenue
Washington, DC 20036
202-265-1600

The nation cannot afford NOT to protect the Great Lakes—they are the source of drinking water for 30 million people!

Over the past eight years, Great Lakes advocates have been instrumental in winning more than $2 billion in federal support to clean up toxic hot spots, restore critical habitat, and confront invasive species through programs like the Great Lakes Restoration Initiative. Restoration funding is already reaping huge benefits for the region by cleaning up the lakes, enhancing job creation, and supporting the economy in the Great Lakes states —but there is more work to do. Our outdated water infrastructure is crumbling, threatening our drinking water, polluting the Great Lakes, and making utility bills unaffordable. We won’t quit until we’ve put an end to drinking water restrictions, beach closings and fish consumption advisories.

If you would like to attend Great Lakes Day 2018 please contact the Healing Our Waters-Great Lakes Coalition State leader in your state.

Minnesota
Steve Schultz
Clean Water Action
sschultz@cleanwater.org

Wisconsin
Chris Danou
Gathering Waters: Wisconsin’s Alliance for Land Trusts
chris@gatheringwaters.org

Illinois
Sheyda Esnaashari
Alliance for the Great Lakes
sesnaashari@greatlakes.org

Indiana
Cathy Martin
Save the Dunes
cathy@savedunes.org

Michigan
Gildo Tori
Ducks Unlimited
gtori@ducks.org

Ohio
Kristy Meyer
Ohio Environmental Council
kmeyer@theoec.org

New York
Brian Smith
Citizens Campaign for the Environment
bsmith@citizenscampaign.org